Announcing: The Tide Turns (coming Aug 25!)

Brad Cheeseman is set to release his new album, The Tide Turns, on Friday August 25, 2017. The album includes nine tracks, eight of which are new contemporary jazz compositions from the Hamilton bassist/composer. Joining Cheeseman on this album are frequent collaborators Robert Chapman (guitar), Sam Kogen (piano) and Marito Marques (drums), as well as JUNO award-winning saxophonist Kelly Jefferson. The CD will be available at performances, as well as digitally through Bandcamp and iTunes.

The album comes on the heels of Cheeseman winning the coveted Grand Prix de Jazz for his band’s performance at the 2016 Montreal Jazz Festival, which included a week of studio time at Montreal’s Studio 270. “It was a huge honour to win the Grand Prix, and a catalyst to document an important time in my life through music,” explains Cheeseman. “This is a very personal record for me, and is based on a year full of change, self-discovery and reinvention. There’s a lot of heart in this music.”

1. The Tide Turns (4:12)
2. All In (4:49)
3. Falling Forward (4:36)
4. Something You Said (6:27)
5. Get That Fire (4:12)
6. 29 (6:15)
7. I’d Do Everything (5:27)
8. High Tide (5:35)
9. Lonely Lonely (5:13)